Thanks for visiting us, please take a few minutes to look around the site and find more about the Centre for Politics and Public Participation.

To get you started, here is some information about the founding members of the CPPP:

Dayal Sharma MBE

Dayal Sharma MBEDayal Sharma was born in India, graduating with a Bachelor of Arts Degree form Punjab University in 1962. He now lives and works in Bradford.

He arrived in England in 1964 and worked in Engineering as a recruiting officer for ethnic minorities. In 1969 he joined the Inland Revenue and from 1987 was on secondment as Director of Institute of Asian Business.

Dayal has been a leading member of the Hindu Cultural Society of Bradford playing a leading role in its development.

During the last thirty years he has served the society their Secretary, Chairman of the Trustees and was its longest serving President. He played an important role in laying the foundations of the new Hindu Temple. He is a founding member and format chair of the Minorities Police Liaison Committee Bradford. He has worked with West Yorkshire Police in building good community relations for over 30 years.

He has also been heavily involved in local radio and for 13 years was presenter, producer and assistant programme controller for an Asian programme on Pennine Radio and has been a programme advisory council member for Yorkshire Television.

He is an ambassador for the Yorkshire Society. He has an honorary Degree for Bradford University and in 2007 received a lifetime achievement award from Bradford City Council. He was awarded the MBE in Queens Birthdays honors list in 2007. He is currently the CEO and founder of Centre for Politics and Public Participation.

barry whitakerBarry Whitaker

Barry Whitaker is a textile graduate of Leeds University and a fellow of the Textiles Institute of Charted Textiles Technology. He is the Chairman of Bradford Conservative Association and has been one of the longest surviving Govenors of Bradford College.

He established the Bradford World Wool Conference in 2003 and has played an active part in supporting the regeneration prospects for Bradford. He Recently retired as Chairman and Managing Director of Allerty Group. He is a companion of the International Textiles Institute which is the highest award in the gift of Textiles Institute.